Interview with Sandra de Helen

aurorawatcherak

Today’s interview is with Sandra de Helen. Welcome to the blog. Tell us something about yourself.

sandra-de-helen-author-picI grew up in mid-Missouri in the 1950s. I’ve lived in several states including Alaska, Texas, and at the bottom of the Grand Canyon in Arizona. I lived in Portland, Oregon for 35 years before I moved to Southern California last year. I’ve retired from the day job, and I supplement my income by editing, teaching, and writing. I’ve been an out lesbian for forty years, and most of my writing includes diverse characters including LGBTQQIA and people of color.

At what point did you know you wanted to be a writer?

As soon as I knew there were books by living authors, I realized I too could write a book. I think I was eight. I won my first writing contest for an essay when I was twelve. I had a poem published when…

View original post 1,137 more words

Leave a Reply

