On Improving the Magic of Inspiration

aurorawatcherak

Front Cover RedI’m drawing to the close of my second draft of Murklin Wood and I am nowhere near done with the revision process.

My first drafts are almost always about inspiration. I am largely an adventure writer … I like to give my characters their heads and let them show me where they want to go.

When my first draft is completed, it’s time to move away from inspiration to perspiration. Aren’t I afraid of killing my darlings? No. I don’t consider myself so brilliant that my darlings don’t need some discipline before they are let out into the world.

Revision is crucial to successful writing.

I enjoy the rewriting process. The first revision is about adding the stuff that got left out of the first draft. How could I have completely bypassed that character who was so great in the first book? What motivated my character to travel THAT road?…

View original post 360 more words

Leave a Reply

