Christian Fiction As Propaganda

aurorawatcherak

As a Christian who is a writer, I don’t necessarily seek to write Christian literature. However, I believe true Christians cannot help to exude our faith as we live our lives or write our books and I do hope Christians won’t avoid my work because I am not writing specifically for them.

Far too often, when I browse the “Christian” section at Barnes & Noble, I see a lot of propaganda wrapped up in books of fiction. It’s worse when I go to the Christian bookstore. The vast majority of what passes for Christian literature is banal, poorly written, dull as tears and message-driven.

I could blame the writers, the publishers or the audience, but I’m going to go out on a limb and blame the entire Christian community. Publishers know their market. That’s how they make money. There is a market for banal, poorly written, dull as tears, message-driven…

View original post 688 more words

Leave a Reply

