What is Your Writing Process?

aurorawatcherak

Someone asked me that on Authonomy and I found it hard to answer.

Why would that be hard to answer?

Because my writing process isn’t very processed, I guess.

I carry a notebook with me to jot down ideas and I’m always typing something on my lap top, but much of my writing happens in my head while I’m going about my everyday life. During quiet times at work, my brain is clicking over character details or scene events. Padraig of The Willow Branch came to me when I was doing data entry. He just started whispering in my head and I needed to write him down. Most of my stories are character-driven. If a character shows up and tells me his/her story, I write it down. If he stops talking for long enough, he dies in the story.

I build the world around the character, so sometimes in the…

View original post 133 more words

Leave a Reply

